Glenna Luschei reflects on her imminent departure from Buenos Aires

Glenna Luschei, Vice-President of Interlitq, with Peter Robertson, President of Interlitq, Café Tortoni, Buenos Aires, August, 2016

Glenna Luschei, Vice-President of Interlitq, with Peter Robertson, President of Interlitq, Café Tortoni, Buenos Aires, August, 2016

Leaving Buenos Aires, Glenna Luschei, the U.S. author and editor and a Vice-President of Interlitq, reflects:

“When I started a magazine fifty years ago I named it Cafe Solo after strong black coffee. Now I think mate is a brew that fits it better, A server pours the brewed tea into a leather-lined cup, which is passed from person to person. Each person sips from a bombilla to drink the hierba dry. Everyone who is nearby is included in the ritual: the postman, the cleaning lady…. It is bad form to refuse or to touch the bombilla. I like the taste of the mate which is like my favorite oolong. I like the idea of passing around the spirit of the circle as well. It has the strong audacious sense of the tango…. I have become a porteña during my month here. Everyoe asks when we’ll return. I pray we do and for a longer time.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

