Belgian woman, 24, granted right to die by euthanasia over suicidal thoughts: ‘Life, that’s not for me’

A 24-year-old Belgium woman (not pictured) who has depression was granted the right to die even though she's not terminally ill.

A 24-year-old Belgium woman (not pictured) who has depression was granted the right to die even though she’s not terminally ill.

A 24-year-old Belgian woman who suffers from depression and has had a “death wish” since childhood has been granted the right to die  — even though she’s not terminally ill.

Doctors gave the young woman, identified only as Laura, the go-ahead to be euthanized by lethal injection after she spent her life battling suicidal thoughts, she told Belgian newspaper De Morgen.

“Life, that’s not for me,” she said. “Death feels to me not as a choice. If I had a choice, I would choose a bearable life, but I have done everything and that was unsuccessful.”

Laura, who entered a psychiatric institution when she was 21, said her alcohol father and troubled childhood contributed to her longtime “death wish.”

“I played all my life with these thoughts of suicide, I have also done a few attempts,” she said. “But then there is someone who needs me, and I don’t want to hurt anyone. That has always stopped me.”

Laura is now planning her funeral and final words to loved ones, De Morgen reported.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

